THKD’s Top 100 Metal Albums #4: Mayhem – Live in Leipzig (Century Media, 1994)

When it’s cold and when it’s dark, the freezing moon can obsess you!” – Dead

By and large, live albums are unessential affairs.  They typically consist of sonically inferior versions of a band’s “greatest hits,” with lame between song banter, distracting crowd noises, and more often than not, so many overdubs that the album is no longer “live” at all by the time it hits the record store shelves (or these days, the world wide thieves network, aka the internet).

Not so with Mayhem’s Live in Leipzig.  Recorded at a club called Eisfeller in Leipzig, East Germany on November 26th, 1990 (the day after my 11th birthday), this document captures the true essence of the infamous Norwegian black metal progenitors unlike any other recording I’ve heard from the band.  Granted, I haven’t yet been inclined to sift through the numerous bootlegs that are floating around the underground (Dawn of the Black HeartsVomit from Helvete, etc.) but I am extremely familiar with all of Mayhem’s studio recordings, and I can honestly say that Live in Leipzig is the truest representation of the band (and quite possibly of Norwegian/2nd wave black metal itself) ever to be pressed onto plastic (and wax).

Two things, or more accurately, two persons make this so.  Dead and Euronymous.  The presence of these two black metal iconoclasts is absolutely immense on Live in Leipzig, and although they departed this mortal coil in 1991 and 1993 respectively, that haunting presence is still epalpable wherever the album is spun (although it tends to work best in total darkness on a cold winter night), to the point that it feels like they’re speaking to you directly from beyond the grave.  Dead’s positively possessed vocals prove that his pseudonym was apt; the man sounds like he just crawled out of a rotting, dirt-covered casket, returning to the land of the living with the sole purpose of shredding his throat in the name of black metal.  Euronymous’ guitar-work dominates the mix along with the vocals, his playing some of the most unholy racket you’re ever likely to hear.  The guitar solos often sound like Euronymous is on the brink of losing control, yet somehow he harnesses all of that swarming, distorted filth into some of the darkest, most downright wicked six-string sorcery ever recorded.  One can’t help but wonder if “Chainsaw Gutsfuck” is actually a reference to the sickening guitar tones he so effortlessly conjured here.

The album’s unquestionable pinnacle is “The Freezing Moon,” a perfect black metal song if ever there was one.  It is here that everything comes together for Mayhem; the bloodcurdling vocals, the malevolent riffage and the horrific, deathly atmosphere that hung over the band like a grim reaper’s shroud intertwine in a way that other black metal bands could only hope to achieve and are still chasing after over two decades later.  This song alone proves that Mayhem should be considered legendary for their music, not for the tragedy and sensationalism that would eventually engulf the band and change it forever.  The rest of the set is equally harrowing; Mayhem’s total dedication to sonically manifesting black metal’s inherent morbidity and misanthropy borders on something resembling religious mania, such is the intensity of the performance.  I can only imagine what it was like to physically witness such wrath and ruin.

Black metal is many things. It is the musical incarnation of chaos and hatred and perverse lust.  It is the soundtrack to a lifestyle, a world view and an attitude.  It is an escape to another plane of existence, where life is a curse and only death is real.  I hear all of these things and more when I listen to Live in Leipzig.  For at least one night in 1990, Mayhem was black metal personified.

26 thoughts on “THKD’s Top 100 Metal Albums #4: Mayhem – Live in Leipzig (Century Media, 1994)”

  1. @UA: Ahh, I could see that definitely having an impact on how one views the music. I’m too young to have been around back in those days (I’m 22) so I don’t really know what it would’ve been like back then. That being said I think social media and the advent of sites like this are sort of bringing that back a bit, just on a much less personal level since it basically spans the whole globe. But over the last year or two I’ve been feeling a bit more involved in the metal community, thanks to discussions like this and being able to follow bands on facebook to chat with them and keep up with releases and whatnot. And at the same time I’ve been making a conscious effort to make it out to more shows. Got a couple of promising black metal tours coming through in spring actually and I’m hoping that seeing it live might give me a bit of a different perspective on it.
    Thanks for the insight, dude! PS looking forward to more of The Ash Eaters

    Like

  2. @Brendan: a lot of the love for the (now) older black metal stuff still comes from nostalgia…in my mind it’s impossible to separate the two…so it was the experience of living the music back then, being so involved in it, the whole “scene”…seeing/hearing each of those classic albums come out, feeling like one was involved in something really big and important, something vital…everyone misses that feeling…

    Like

  3. Ya man I’d HIGHLY recommend that album by The Body. Truly a disturbing piece of music! Just got it on vinyl recently 😀
    And that’s very true about most death metal, it can have that over the top, theatrical feel about it which I do have to admit can be sort of silly.
    I have to say, I’m surprised you like Krallice’s recent one the most. That’s the one that I was introduced to but since then I’ve gotten really in to Dimensional Bleedthrough. That album is really killer and seems maybe a bit more focused and concise than Diotima.

    And it looks like I now have a bunch more homework than I did before! I really appreciate all the recommendations and I can’t wait to check them out! Hopefully I’ll find something I like. And thanks for taking the time to inform me!

    Once again, be sure to check out The Body. It’s quite unlike any other music I’ve listened to.
    Here’s a song to get you started. This one has some really weird vocal thing sampled throughout. (Love the artwork btw, it really suits the music)

    Like

  4. @Brendan – Hmm, black metal not bound by simplicity… I’d say try latter-day Enslaved, Katharsis – World Without End, Thorns – s/t, Deathspell Omega – everything from Si Monvmentvm Reqvires Circvmspice through Paracletus, Rites of Thy Degringolade – An Ode to Sin, Blut Aus Nord – everything from The Mystical Beast of Rebellion through the 777 trilogy, Averse Sefira – Tetragrammatical Astygmata, DHG – 666 International, all the Blasphemer-era Mayhem stuff… those ought to be a pretty good start.

    Some death metal bands are great creating a legitimately deathly atmosphere, Mitochondrion, older Autopsy, Vasaeleth, Grave Miasma, etc… but for me most death metal is like the horror film or comic book depiction of death (and there’s nothing wrong with that) whereas a lot of the classic black metal captures a very real kind of morbidity. That’s just me though. I think this last Krallice album was probably the best thing they’ve done, I think I’d like them more if they learned to trim the fat from their songwriting. A lot of what they do feels unnecessary.

    RE: The Body, I STILL haven’t checked out this band yet, sounds like I really need to get on that one!

    Like

  5. Josh, I’ve been thinking about it a bit more and I realized that I find my self gravitating towards more complex, challenging, and weird music, regardless of what genre it is. Not complex and technical for the sake of complexity, but complex in the sense that it’s not bound by simplicity. Maybe you could recommend some BM that might fit that?

    Like

  6. Ya you’re totally right about UA’s work and I feel the same way about Krallice, they also seem to be on the fringes and fairly atypical, as far as my knowledge of BM goes. When I first listened to them I found it impenetrable as well but, I don’t really know why, for some reason I found myself really intrigued by it and drawn back in to it. Eventually, the more I listened to it, the more I found myself being completely swept away by it. There really is a truly hypnotic quality to Krallice’s music.
    And unfortunately I can’t seem to place my finger on what it is about black metal that I can’t get in to. In my ears, “death, darkness, pestilence,” seem to be things that black metallers can’t get across as authentically as some death metallers. When I think about “death, darkness, pestilence” I think Mitochondrion’s Parasignosis and The Body’s All the Waters of the Earth Turn to Blood. Those albums truly FRIGHTEN me. Especially The Body’s, it’s so raw and authentic; a feeling I don’t seem to get from most black metal unfortunately.

    Like

  7. @Brendan – I’d like to hear more. What is it about black metal that sounds “lame” to you? I find it interesting that Krallice speaks to you in some way but not Mayhem, because I find Krallice’s music to be quite impenetrable, whereas Mayhem’s music draws me into a world of death, darkness, pestilence, etc. But really, comparing Mayhem to Krallice is an apples to oranges comparison. I think Brown Jenkins/The Ash Eaters exist on the fringes of BM and that’s what makes the music so fascinating, UA has taken the black metal framework and truly bent it to his will, rather than trying to copy what came before.

    Like

  8. Aw man, I always read these fantastically written reviews of black metal but when I listen to it it just sounds… (sorry, but) lame. I WANT to like it because of the way you describe it, I WANT to experience what you’re experiencing, but when I listen to it it does absolutely nothing for me.
    I’m probably gonna take some flak for this but Krallice is one of the only black metal bands I can get in to. Them and Brown Jenkins and The Ash Eaters; thank you, UA.
    But there’s something that all these quintessential black metal bands seem to be missing in my mind, something that makes it more engaging and interesting…
    Maybe I need to experience it live.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.